Cultural’s Elite

Landing image

When I’m thinking about reviewing places rarely does the thought to  review the barber who cuts my hair come to mind. As with most men getting my ears lowered is probably down near the bottom of my priority list. Often times I get my hair cut short not because it’s so stylish but because it’s low maintenance and I don’t have to get it cut for a bit of time. 

Then you go to a barber shop on a whim. I need a cut on the hair, I didn’t have time to run to my usual spot, and frankly it’s only about a two block walk from the shop. So I sauntered down the street thinking well if it’s a women’s salon oh well I have to get a hair cut!

So I walk in and I’m immediately greeted by these two small lap dogs that belong to the owners and to be honest they are super affectionate little monsters. The young man behind the reception counter politely greeted me after the little pups did and squeezed me in to have Brandon the owner of the shop clip me up. That’s where I was very impressed. Brandon greeted me also asked me kindly to give him a few more minutes before he could seat me for the haircut.

What first struck me with Brandon was that he looks so young which of course added to my trepidation with putting my hair in his hands. I had never been here and now I have a baby face barber coming at me with shears and clippers!!!!

What a true surprise and find Brandon is!!!

He is a consummate professional with that great barber twist… how long has it been since you’ve sat down in a chair with a real barber who takes pride in his craft (if you’re a man). Well he was like Jackson Pollock with his tools of the trade or Evgeni Malkin with a puck screaming towards the net on a break away. In other words an artist with shears and clippers. Not only did he listen to what I wanted but he delivered with panache and suave style!

So to make it even better the salon is split in two with the right side being the barber side for all us guys to be guys and get our hair cut by a smooth criminal with clippers. On the other side is the ladies paradise. After my experience my daughter needed her hair done also. So off to the local barber shop/salon we went.

To say my daughter was skeptical of her dad taking her to where I get my hair cut is an understatement but she was definitely glad she went. She was introduced to Sanoma and again this lovely lady listened intently to my wife and daughter on what they were trying to do with her hair, because as any guy knows, women’s hair is a magical journey into the feminine psyche of “beautiful”. Add to that mix a sixteen year old girl and the stage is set for massive disappointments and tragedies if even one lock falls wrong.

Cultural's interiorSanoma not only listened, provided feedback, she has girl talk while working down pat. I watched as my daughter went from a nervous teen worried with the outcome of her hair to being at ease and letting a talented professional ply her craft. Sanoma took her time and delivered in a big way! My daughter felt transformed, strutted like a supermodel on a runway in Milan, and was smiles from ear to ear.

So if you are in downtown Pittsburgh, PA and find yourself in need of a great haircut and style stop by and be wowed by your experience give Brandon or Sanoma a call.

Cultural’s Elite

954 Penn Ave

Pittsburgh, PA 15222

(412)391-1717

Leave a comment